SUBSCRIBE TO

THE MAILING LIST

CLICK HERE

MARRIAGE:

 

ADULT RIGHTS OR CHILDREN'S RIGHTS?

 

France rejects same sex marriage for the sake of children.

Canada ignores children to satisfy an adult minority.

 

Children now have rights and "to systematically give preference to adult aspirations over respect for these rights is not possible any more. French National Assembly(1)

 

We declare that every child has a natural self-evident right to a mother and a father. Marriage between a man and a woman protects that right, even in cases of divorce, where the courts ensure that the child has an appropriate level of care from and access to both parents.

France, quoting the United Nations, agrees. Article 7 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child states that the child "shall have, as far as possible, the right to know and be cared for by his or her parents".

The Civil Marriage Act doesn't. Instead, it grants adults the right to replace a natural parent with a legal parent of another gender, making the child essentially fatherless, or motherless.


We declare that the married, biological family provides the optimal environment for raising children. There are exceptions to the rule, and some of us are living in them. But the ideal we want for our children and our grandchildren is a stable family with a married mother and father, even if we can't always provide that for our children.

Social Science agrees. Thousands of legitimate studies over the years agree that, overall, the married biological family serves children far better than any other family structure. It produces the most favorable rates in everything from academic excellence to avoiding crime, depression and suicide.

The Civil Marriage Act doesn't. In the name of equality for individual adults, it ignores children and suppresses the reality that the traditional family produces better outcomes for children. It also prevents the traditional family structure from being held up as the ideal.


We declare that since traditional marriage is the only family structure that provides a child with both a father and a mother, the government has a duty to support and defend it.

The United Nations agrees. Part 3, Article 10-1 of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights declares that "the widest possible protection and assistance should be accorded to the family... particularly for its establishment and while it is responsible for the care and education of dependent children."

The Civil Marriage Act undermines marriage. The Civil Marriage Act ignores children and transforms marriage into a vehicle for validating adult relationships and changing mores.


We declare that government is obligated to consider the impact on children before redefining marriage.

France, quoting the United Nations, agrees. The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, Article 3, states "In all actions concerning children, whether undertaken by public or private social welfare institutions, courts of law, administrative authorities or legislative bodies, the best interests of the child shall be a primary consideration."

Our government refused to do so. During hearings and debates, references to children, their rights or their needs were swept aside because this was strictly an "adult equality issue" as children are not covered by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Our government has not only neglected to exercise any precaution with regards to children, it has also negated their right to a father and a mother.

 

Contact your MP to have him reconsider marriage based on children's rights and re-establish for all children the right to a father and a mother.

March 7, 2006

PRINT THIS PAGE

(1) Parliamentary Report on the Family and the Rights of Children, French National Assembly, Paris, January 25, 2006

Executive Summary (2 pages)   Complete report, in French (453 pages)  

 

 

____________________________________________

     SUBSCRIBE TO OUR E-MAIL LIST TO BE KEPT INFORMED    

ABOUT MARRIAGE IN CANADA

Please indicate the province you live inside your subscription email.

CLICK HERE TO PROCEED

 

 

This website is will be updated frequently with additional information, tools and help. Please check back regularly.


[Home]    [Your MP]    [References]    [About us]    [Contact]

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS

À LA LISTE DE DIFFUSION

CLIQUEZ ICI

MARIAGE:

DROITS DES ADULTES ou DROITS DES ENFANTS?

 

La France rejette les mariages de même sexe, au nom des enfants.

Le Canada ignore les enfants pour satisfaire à une minorité d’adultes.

 

Les enfants ont des droits et “ il n’est plus possible de faire passer systématiquement les aspirations des adultes avant le respect de ces droits.” Assemblée nationale, France (1)

 

Nous déclarons que chaque enfant a un droit fondamental à un père et à une mère. Le mariage entre un homme et une femme protège ce droit, même dans les cas de divorce lorsque la cour s’assure que l’enfant puisse recevoir les soins et l’accès à ses deux parents.

La France, citant les Nations Unies, est d’accord. L'article 7 de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant stipule que l'enfant a, “dans la mesure du possible, le droit de connaître ses parents et d'être élevé par eux.”

La loi sur le Mariage Civil le nie. Au contraire, elle accorde aux adultes le droit de remplacer un parent naturel par un parent légal de l’autre genre, rendant l’enfant essentiellement orphelin de père ou de mère.

 

Nous déclarons que la famille biologique découlant du mariage procure à l’enfant le meilleur environnement pour son développement. Il y a certes des exceptions et certains vivent cette réalité. Mais l’idéal que nous désirons perpétuer pour nos enfants et nos petits-enfants demeure une famille stable composée d’un père et d’une mère mariés, même si ce n’est pas toujours possible.

Les sciences sociales sont d’accord. Des milliers de recherches légitimes confirment que, dans l’ensemble, la famille biologique avec un père et une mère mariés dessert beaucoup mieux les besoins de l’enfant que toute autre structure familiale. Elle produit des résultats plus favorables dans tous les domaines, du succès académique à la prévention du crime et du suicide.

La loi sur le Mariage Civil le nie. Au nom de l’égalité entre adultes, elle ignore les enfants, et tait la réalité que la famille traditionnelle donne de meilleurs résultats pour les enfants. Elle s’oppose ainsi à l’idéal que représente la famille traditionnelle.

 

Nous déclarons que le mariage traditionnel est la seule institution qui procure à l’enfant un père et une mère, et que le gouvernement a le devoir de le soutenir et de le défendre.

Les Nations Unies sont d’accord.  L’article 10 du Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels déclare : “Une protection et une assistance aussi larges que possible doivent être accordées à la famille, … en particulier pour sa formation et aussi longtemps qu'elle a la responsabilité de l'entretien et de l'éducation d'enfants à charge.”

La loi sur le Mariage Civil mine le mariage. La Loi sur le Mariage Civil ignore les enfants et transforme le mariage en une structure qui sert à valider des relations entre adultes et des moeurs.


 

Nous déclarons que le gouvernement a l’obligation d’évaluer les conséquences sur les enfants avant de redéfinir le mariage.

La France, citant les Nations Unies, est d’accord. L'article 3 de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant dit: “Dans toutes les décisions qui concernent les enfants, qu'elles soient le fait des institutions publiques ou privées de protection sociale, des tribunaux, des autorités administratives ou des organes législatifs, l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant doit être une considération primordiale.”

Notre gouvernement a refusé de le faire. Durant les audiences et les débats, les références aux droits et besoins des enfants ont été systématiquement écartés parce qu’il s’agissait uniquement d’une question de  “droits d’adultes”, les enfants n’étant pas mentionnés dans la Charte Canadienne des Droits et Libertés. Notre gouvernement a non seulement négligé le principe de prudence envers les enfants, il a aussi nié leur droit fondamental d’avoir un père et une mère.  

 

Demandez à votre député de revoir la définition du mariage en se basant sur les droits des enfants et de rétablir leur droit à un père et une mère.

 

7 mars, 2006
Imprimer cette page

 (1) Rapport Parlementaire sur la famille et les droits des enfants, Assemblée Nationale, Paris, 25 Janvier, 2006
Rapport complet (453 pages)   Résumé (2 pages)

 

____________________________________________

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS À NOTRE LISTE DE DIFFUSION POUR RECEVOIR

DES NOUVELLES SUR LE MARIAGE AU CANADA

  SVP indiquer votre province ou pays dans votre courriel d'inscription. Merci!   

CLIQUEZ ICI POUR CONTINUER

 


[Accueil]    [Contacter votre Député]    [Ressources et liens]    [A propos]    [Contactez-nous]